Letters and Manuscripts — Volume 10 (1895)


Lt 157, 1895

White, W. C.

Norfolk Villa, Granville, N. S. W., Australia

October 4, 1895

Portions of this letter are published in 3MR 410.

Dear Son Willie:

I wish to specify the things I shall need if I am well enough to attend the camp meeting: my feather bed, my spring cushion, black stockings in drawer or long valise, my two flannel underskirts. I cannot think of anything more in particular now. 10LtMs, Lt 157, 1895, par. 1

I am anxious to learn when the house will be finished, that the family can go into it. I am inclined to think another cottage, as we talked of, better be built on the plan you suggested, and the lumber should be ordered long enough beforehand to be on the ground and not have such delays as are now experienced. There is a white piece of tent lying beside the diningroom tent which should be cared for, and everything like steamer chairs should be stored safely somewhere out of rain and sun; and a more perfect stable should be built in addition to the one already made. 10LtMs, Lt 157, 1895, par. 2

I am a little stronger. Wrote some this morning. 10LtMs, Lt 157, 1895, par. 3

Write to me, as soon as you can, how you find things. I want to tell you that I know Caldwell is a rough, coarse man to handle cattle. I would much rather have a more tender, sweeter-tempered man look after my living creatures. This is the testimony of all who know him. 10LtMs, Lt 157, 1895, par. 4

I am sorry he has so harsh and hard a spirit. The gentleness of Christ would make him a very different man. I will leave this with you. 10LtMs, Lt 157, 1895, par. 5

Will write just a few words to Fannie, where to find my things. You need not trouble to find them. 10LtMs, Lt 157, 1895, par. 6

We miss you. 10LtMs, Lt 157, 1895, par. 7